How to account for climate in financial reporting - Part One

How can companies, preparers, accountants and finance functions begin to account for climate under existing accounting standards?

Date: 25 February, 2021
Time: 09:00 GMT // 10:00 CET // 18:00 JST // 20:00 AEDT 
Webinar replay:

View the slides. 

Click here to register for Part Two of this webinar, covering the following two standards: IAS 36 Impairment of Assets and IAS 16 Property, Plant & Equipment.

Following the publication of guidance for integrating climate matters into financial reporting by CDSB in December 2020, we welcome companies, preparers, accountants, the finance function and other stakeholders to join the webinar and gain insight into:

  • How climate-related matters should be factored into company financial reporting;
  • Examples of accounting for climate in line with current IFRS accounting standards; and
  • The steps preparers should take to begin integrating climate-related matters into financial reporting, in line with investor and other stakeholder expectations.

Agenda and speakers: 

09:00 GMT: Introduction  

Speaker and moderator: Sundip Jadeja, CDSB Technical Manager and Lead author of the Accounting for climate guidance  

09:10 IAS 1 Presentation of Financial Statements.  

Speaker: Ravi Abeywardana (ACA), Technical Director, CDSB 

09:20 IAS 37 Provisions, Contingent Liabilities and Contingent Assets.  

Speaker: Simon Weaver, Partner, Co-Head of Climate Risk and Decarbonisation Strategy, KPMG UK 

09:30 Three tips on how companies can build the bridge between finance and sustainability.   

Jane Thostrup Jagd, Member of CDSB Technical Working Group 

09:40 Discussion and questions

Click here to register for Part Two of this webinar, covering the following two standards: IAS 36 Impairment of Assets and IAS 16 Property, Plant & Equipment.

The event follows on from the CDSB online discussions held on 5 November 2020, which addressed the question as to whether climate-related matters are relevant for financial reporting. Watch the previous discussions here.


With the contribution of the LIFE Programme of the European Union

The content of this page is the sole responsibility of the author and can under no circumstances be regarded as reflecting the position of the European Union