UNEP FI Panel Debate at the Sustainable Investment Forum - North America 2021

Aligning portfolios with biodiversity goals- presenting new opportunities for portfolio alignment with a global biodiversity framework.

Date: 28 September 2021
Time: 09:35 EST // 14:35 BST // 15:35 CEST 
Register: online

The natural world underpins our economies, with more than 44 trillion USD of economic value generation, half the world’s GDP, moderately or highly dependent on this critical asset. Nature is central to supply chains and raw materials, supporting the businesses we finance, invest in and insure – and yet it is increasingly under threat. With international biodiversity frameworks being drawn up in 2021, and key developments such as ENCORE’s Biodiversity Module, as well as the Task Force on Nature-Related Financial Disclosures (TNFD) coming online, the race to halt and reverse biodiversity loss has begun. This session will explore how North American investors can move from the case for investing in nature to meeting the conservation finance gap at scale. This shift presents many business opportunities for regional investors, with the support of blended finance and strategic public investments in accelerating nature finance.

Confirmed speakers:

Moderator:

  • Jessica Smith, Ecosystems Lead, UNEP FI

Speaker:

  • Laura Clavey – Technical Manager, Climate Disclosure Standards Board
  • Andrew Deutz, Director, Global Policy, Institutions and Conservation Finance, The Nature Conservancy
  • Miquel Saludas Cohí, Low carbon agriculture specialist, FAO

View the agenda for updates here.